On this page · 7 sections
Most microwaves under ₱6,500 do the same job: 20 to 25 litres, 700 to 900 W of cooking power, a turntable and a defrost setting. What really separates them is the warranty, above all on the magnetron, the part that makes the microwaves, and whether the controls are knobs or buttons. We read the listings of the 34 in stock at Western Appliances up to ₱6,500 on 22 October 2026, and the makers’ own pages where we could.
Short answer: the Toshiba MW2-MM24PB (₱4,300) is the one to buy: 24 litres, 800 W, and Toshiba’s own page gives two years on parts and service and five years on the magnetron. If you want buttons and auto menus, the Toshiba MW3-EM20PB (₱4,644). The cheapest worth having is the American Home AMW22 at ₱3,020. None of the links on this page earn us anything.
The picks at a glance
| Model | Size and power | Controls | Warranty, as stated | Lowest price we saw |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Toshiba MW2-MM24PB | 24 L, 800 W | Two knobs, 5 power levels | 2 years parts and service, 5 years magnetron (Toshiba) | ₱4,300, Western Appliances |
| Toshiba MW3-EM20PB | 20 L, 700 W output | Digital, 10 power levels, 6 auto menus | 2 years parts and labour, 5 years magnetron (Western’s listing) | ₱4,644, Western Appliances |
| Hanabishi HMO25MINV | 25 L, 800 W output, inverter | Two knobs, 5 power levels | 5 years magnetron, free labour for life (Hanabishi) | ₱5,400, Western Appliances |
| Fujidenzo MM22BL | 20 L | Knob, 5 power levels | 1 year labour, 2 years parts and magnetron (Western’s listing) | ₱3,520, Western Appliances |
| American Home AMW22 | 20 L, 700 W output | Mechanical, push-button door | 1 year (Western’s listing) | ₱3,020, Western Appliances |
Prices are Western Appliances’ sale prices on 22 October 2026. Several models there, including the Toshibas and the American Home, are listed as pre-order with a 7 to 15 business day lead time, so ask before you pay.
Our picks in detail
1. Toshiba MW2-MM24PB: best overall
A 24-litre microwave with two knobs, five power levels, defrost, a 270 mm turntable and an easy-clean cavity, rated 800 W on Western’s listing. The reason to choose it is the warranty: Toshiba Philippines’ own page gives two years on parts and service and five years on the magnetron, the longest terms we found that the maker itself states at this price.
- Price: ₱4,300 at Western Appliances (22 October 2026), listed as pre-order
- Watch out for: knobs only, no auto menus or child lock, and Toshiba’s page does not state the wattage. At 485 mm wide it needs more counter than a 20-litre model.
2. Toshiba MW3-EM20PB: best with digital controls
A 20-litre digital model with a touch panel, ten power levels, six auto menus and defrost by time or weight, 700 W of cooking power from 1,050 W drawn. Western’s listing gives it the same two years on parts and labour and five years on the magnetron as the 24-litre Toshiba.
- Price: ₱4,644 at Western Appliances (22 October 2026)
- Watch out for: the warranty here is from Western’s listing; we confirmed Toshiba’s own terms only for the 24-litre model.
3. Hanabishi HMO25MINV: biggest, with an inverter
25 litres, an inverter that Hanabishi says saves up to 10% energy, two knobs, five power levels, a 288 mm turntable and a 35-minute timer, 800 W of cooking power from 1,250 W drawn. Hanabishi’s warranty guidelines put microwave ovens in the group with five years on the magnetron, with free labour for life, as long as you keep the receipt.
- Price: ₱5,400 at Western Appliances (22 October 2026)
- Watch out for: Hanabishi’s guidelines do not spell out the term for the microwave’s other parts, and the 10% saving is the maker’s claim, not something we measured.
4. Fujidenzo MM22BL: cheap, with two years on parts
A 20-litre knob microwave with five power levels, a 30-minute timer and an end-of-cooking signal. Western’s listing gives one year on labour and two years on parts and the magnetron, longer on parts than most at this price.
- Price: ₱3,520 at Western Appliances (22 October 2026)
- Watch out for: the listing does not state the wattage, and we could not confirm the warranty on a Fujidenzo page.
5. American Home AMW22: cheapest worth having
20 litres, mechanical controls, a push-button door, defrost, a metal body and cavity, 700 W of cooking power from 1,200 W drawn, and a one-year warranty on Western’s listing. It does the basics for ₱1,280 less than our top pick.
- Price: ₱3,020 at Western Appliances (22 October 2026), listed as pre-order
- Watch out for: one year of warranty, and no stated power levels or timer length on the listing.
Also checked
- Midea MM7P012MZ (₱3,786, Western): 20 L, inverter, knob controls. Western’s listing says two years on parts and labour and five on the magnetron, but other retailers list one year, so we could not confirm it.
- Midea FP61MMV020LETHS (₱4,540, Western): 20 L digital, child lock, 11 power levels, 95-minute timer, two years on Western’s listing.
- Imarflex MOH20RW (₱3,920, Western): 20 L, 800 W, child lock, weight and time defrost. No warranty stated on the listing.
- Sharp R20FB (₱4,200, Western): 800 W output from 1,270 W, five power levels, mirror door.
- Whirlpool MWX201XEB (₱4,500, Western; ₱4,295, SM Appliance): 20 L, six power levels, mechanical, one year.
- Asahi MW2003 (₱5,000, Western): digital, 1,100 W, child lock, multi-stage cooking; Asahi’s warranty policy gives microwaves one year on the listed parts, including the magnetron.
- Samsung MS23K3515AS (₱6,000, Western): 23 L, 800 W, ceramic enamel interior, eco mode, child lock.
- American Home AMW20MCS (₱3,190, Western; ₱3,400, SM Appliance): 20 L, 700 W, six power levels, one year on parts and labour.
How to choose
- Look at the magnetron warranty. The magnetron is the costly part, so a five-year term on it is worth more than extra auto menus.
- Size. 20 litres fits a dinner plate and suits one or two people; 23 to 25 litres takes a larger dish and is wider on the counter (the 24-litre Toshiba is 485 mm wide).
- Output vs input power. The output (700 to 900 W) is the cooking power; the input (1,050 to 1,400 W) is what you pay for. A higher output heats faster.
- Knobs or buttons. Knobs are simpler and have less to go wrong; digital panels add auto menus, child locks and precise timing.
- Pre-order lead times. Several Western listings say 7 to 15 business days. If you need it this week, ask first.
How much electricity does a microwave use?
Little, because it runs for minutes. A microwave that draws 1,200 W uses 0.06 kWh in three minutes: about ₱0.90 at Meralco’s October 2026 rate of ₱15.06 per kWh. Ten minutes a day for a month is 6 kWh, about ₱90. Check the input wattage on your model’s label and use our electricity cost calculator for your own numbers.
How we checked: this is research-based. We have not used these microwaves. We read each listing on 22 October 2026 and the makers’ own pages where we could reach them. Where listings disagree, we say so. Read how we test and how we earn.
Related reading
- Condo kitchen appliances worth the counter space: what to buy first, and what to skip.
- Best induction cooker for a condo: fourteen models checked, with prices and warranties.
- Voltage and brownout checklist: five checks before a new appliance goes on the counter.
- Electricity cost calculator: enter watts and hours to see what any appliance adds to your bill.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best microwave oven in the Philippines?
Under ₱6,500, the Toshiba MW2-MM24PB: 24 litres, 800 W, and two years on parts and service with five years on the magnetron on Toshiba’s own page, at ₱4,300 at Western Appliances on 22 October 2026.
What size microwave do I need?
20 litres fits a standard dinner plate and is enough for one or two people. Choose 23 to 25 litres for larger dishes or a family, and measure your counter: the bigger models are about 470 to 485 mm wide.
How much electricity does a microwave use?
A 1,200 W microwave uses about 0.06 kWh in three minutes, roughly ₱0.90 at Meralco’s October 2026 rate. Ten minutes a day for a month is about ₱90.
What does the magnetron warranty mean?
The magnetron is the part that produces the microwaves, and it is usually the most expensive part to replace. A five-year term on it, like Toshiba’s and Hanabishi’s, covers the repair that most often makes an older microwave not worth fixing.



